Owners outside Japan ask us the same first question: what does a Japanese chef cost here? This guide answers it with the pay that Japanese restaurants in six countries were advertising for sushi chefs, sous chefs and head chefs, in two groups: adverts on local job boards in September and October 2026, which are written for local hires, and adverts Washoku Agent has published for chefs hired from Japan (2024 to 2026), which are on a higher scale. It adds the government wage data for the trade, what the adverts include (tips, tronc, superannuation, housing) and what a chef hired from Japan needs on top. Each country opens with the going rate by role, with a US dollar estimate. The adverts behind the figures are listed under each country. None of the figures is Washoku Agent’s placement data.
AT A GLANCE
United States, sushi chef or head chef from Japan
USD 5,000 to 9,000 a month
about USD 60,000 to 108,000 a year; Washoku Agent adverts, 2024 to 2025
Singapore, head chef from Japan
S$8,000 to 12,000 a month
about USD 6,200 to 9,400; Washoku Agent advert, 2024
London, head chef from Japan
GBP 60,000 to 65,000 a year
about USD 79,000 to 86,000, including service charge; Washoku Agent advert, 2025
Paris, sushi chef or head chef from Japan
EUR 3,200 to 6,000 a month
about USD 3,600 to 6,700, plus housing help; Washoku Agent adverts, 2026
How to read advertised pay
- Two kinds of adverts. Local job-board adverts show what a restaurant pays a local hire. Adverts for chefs hired from Japan add the visa minimum, relocation and housing, and sit well above them. Each country shows both, the Japan-hire band first.
- Advertised pay is the opening offer. Head chef adverts in New York, Singapore and Melbourne show wide ranges because the final figure depends on the candidate; the top of the range is what the market pays a proven chef.
- Hourly adverts carry an annual estimate in brackets: the hourly rate times the standard week (US 40, UK 37.5, Australia 38, France 35 hours) times 52 weeks, before overtime, tips or penalty rates.
- The basis differs by country. The US and the UK mix hourly and annual, Singapore and France quote gross monthly pay, Australia quotes annual pay plus superannuation. Gross is not take-home.
- Extras change the number. New York hourly roles add tips, London adds tronc (pooled service charge), Australia adds 12 percent superannuation and penalty rates, Dubai adverts often say ‘all-inclusive’ or ‘tax-free’ and may include housing.
- Government statistics cover all chefs. The US median for chefs and head cooks (USD 62,470) and the Singapore median for chefs (S$3,650 gross a month) sit below most Japanese-restaurant adverts for trained sushi chefs, which is the premium you are paying for.
- US dollar estimates use the ECB reference rates of 2026-10-09 (AED at the fixed peg) and move with the exchange rate.
United States: what restaurants advertised
Hourly roles are usually ‘plus tips’; salaried roles list health insurance, 401k and paid time off. None of the local job-board adverts offered housing; the adverts for chefs hired from Japan, shown first, often add rent help and a flight. Posting dates are shown where the board gave them.
Going rate by role
Annual figures are base pay before tips and benefits; hourly adverts are shown with an annual estimate at 40 hours a week.
Sushi chef, head chef hired from Japan (Washoku Agent adverts)
USD 5,000 to 9,000 a month, about USD 60,000 to 108,000 a year
6 adverts
Sushi chef, head sushi chef (annual)
USD 70,000 to 110,000
3 adverts
Sushi chef (hourly)
USD 30 to 35 an hour plus tips, about USD 62,000 to 73,000 a year
1 advert
Sous chef, Japanese cuisine
USD 80,000 to 85,000
1 advert
Executive chef, Japanese restaurant
USD 130,000 to 145,000 base
1 advert
Line cook
USD 19 to 28 an hour, about USD 40,000 to 58,000 a year
2 adverts
For a chef from Japan. Washoku Agent’s adverts for chefs hired from Japan offered USD 5,000 to 9,000 a month (about USD 60,000 to 108,000 a year), most with visa sponsorship, a flight and rent help. Check the prevailing wage for the visa you will use before you advertise.
- Median annual wage for chefs and head cooks: USD 62,470 in May 2025 (USD 30.03 an hour); the lowest 10 percent earned less than USD 37,900 and the highest 10 percent more than USD 98,560. Restaurant cooks: median USD 17.98 an hour. (US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook, August 2026)
The adverts behind these figures (14 job advertisements; dates in the table)
| Role as advertised |
Employer |
City |
Pay as written |
Source and date |
| Head chef, shabu-shabu kaiseki |
Not disclosed (visa sponsored) |
Los Angeles, CA |
USD 6,000 to 9,000 gross a month |
Washoku Agent December 2025 |
| Assistant sushi chef |
Not disclosed (visa, 50% rent) |
New Jersey |
USD 60,000 to 80,000 gross a year |
Washoku Agent February 2025 |
| Head chef, Japanese fine dining |
Not disclosed (flight, insurance) |
Chicago, IL |
up to USD 5,500 a month plus commission |
Washoku Agent January 2025 |
| Omakase sushi chef |
Not disclosed (visa, rent help) |
Houston, TX |
up to USD 6,000 a month plus tips |
Washoku Agent January 2025 |
| Japanese chef, kappo |
Not disclosed (flight, insurance) |
Seattle, WA |
USD 5,000 to 7,000 gross a month |
Washoku Agent October 2024 |
| Sushi chef |
Not disclosed (hourly plus tips) |
Seattle, WA |
USD 5,000 to 7,000 gross a month |
Washoku Agent October 2024 |
| Sushi Chef |
Shota Omakase |
Brooklyn, NY |
USD 85,000 to 100,000 a year |
Culinary Agents listing to June 2026 |
| Executive Chef, new Japanese restaurant |
undisclosed (recruiter) |
New York, NY |
USD 130,000 to 145,000 base |
One Haus 2026 |
| Sous Chef, Japanese cuisine (luxury hotel) |
undisclosed (recruiter) |
New York, NY |
USD 80,000 to 85,000 |
COREcruitment mid-2026 |
| Head Sushi Chef |
Sushi by Scratch |
Deer Valley, UT |
USD 95,000 to 110,000 a year |
Scratch Restaurants 2026 |
| Head Sushi Chef (omakase) |
Japanese buffet concept |
Flushing, NY |
USD 70,000 to 90,000, negotiable |
KIWAMI July 2026 (closed) |
| Sushi Chef (hourly) |
Commune Cafe and Wine Bar |
Brooklyn, NY |
USD 30 to 35 an hour plus tips (about USD 62,000 to 73,000 a year at 40 hours a week) |
Culinary Agents to November 2025 |
| Line Cook |
Nami Nori |
New York, NY |
USD 19 to 24 an hour (about USD 40,000 to 50,000 a year at 40 hours a week) |
Culinary Agents to August 2026 |
| Line Cook |
COTE (Gracious Hospitality) |
New York, NY |
USD 22 to 28 an hour (about USD 46,000 to 58,000 a year at 40 hours a week) |
Greenhouse June 2026 |
Singapore: what restaurants advertised
Adverts quote gross monthly pay in Singapore dollars; none of the local job-board adverts mentioned housing, meals, service charge or a work pass. A chef hired from Japan needs an Employment Pass (minimum S$5,600 a month at age 23, rising with age, S$6,000 from 2027) or an S Pass (S$3,300 to 4,800), so the adverts below show where local pay sits against those floors.
Going rate by role
Gross monthly pay in Singapore dollars, before CPF and any service charge.
Head chef hired from Japan (Washoku Agent advert)
S$8,000 to 12,000 a month
about USD 6,200 to 9,400 a month
1 advert
Junior sushi chef, line cook
S$2,500 to 3,500 a month
about USD 2,000 to 2,700 a month
2 adverts
Sushi chef, casual and mid-range
S$3,500 to 5,500 a month
about USD 2,700 to 4,300 a month
2 adverts
Sushi chef, fine-dining groups
S$6,000 to 12,000 a month
about USD 4,700 to 9,400 a month
3 adverts
Sushi sous chef
S$5,000 to 8,000 a month
about USD 3,900 to 6,200 a month
1 advert
Head chef, executive chef
S$4,500 to 6,500 (small restaurant) to S$14,000 to 16,000 (integrated resort)
about USD 3,500 to 12,500 a month
2 adverts
For a chef from Japan. The Employment Pass floor is S$5,600 a month at 23 (about USD 4,400) and rises with age, so a chef from Japan starts at S$6,000 and up whatever the restaurant’s price point; Washoku Agent’s advert for an omakase kappo head chef offered S$8,000 to 12,000 (about USD 6,200 to 9,400).
- Ministry of Manpower Occupational Wage Survey 2025 (June 2025 wages, full-time resident employees): chefs excluding pastry chefs, gross monthly wage 25th percentile S$2,743, median S$3,650, 75th percentile S$4,784; kitchen operations heads median S$4,517; cooks median S$1,897. Foreign pass holders are not in this base. (MOM Occupational Wages 2025, Table 4, June 2026)
- Employment Pass minimum qualifying salary S$5,600 a month at age 23 and under, rising to S$10,700 at 45 and over (S$6,000 to 11,500 from 1 January 2027); S Pass S$3,300 to 4,800 (S$3,600 to 5,100 from 2027). (MOM, Employment Pass and S Pass eligibility, April 2026)
The adverts behind these figures (11 job advertisements; dates in the table)
| Role as advertised |
Employer |
City |
Pay as written |
Source and date |
| Head chef, omakase kappo |
Not disclosed (visa, flight) |
Singapore |
S$8,000 to 12,000 gross a month about USD 6,200 to 9,400 a month |
Washoku Agent November 2024 |
| Executive Chef, Japanese cuisine |
Resorts World Sentosa |
Sentosa |
S$14,000 to 16,000 a month about USD 10,900 to 12,500 a month |
MyCareersFuture 16 September 2026 |
| Sushi and Sashimi Chef |
R E & S Enterprises |
Singapore |
S$6,000 to 12,000 a month about USD 4,700 to 9,400 a month |
MyCareersFuture 5 October 2026 |
| Sushi Chef |
Les Amis Holdings |
Singapore |
S$6,500 to 10,000 a month about USD 5,100 to 7,800 a month |
MyCareersFuture 7 October 2026 |
| Senior Sushi and Kitchen Chef |
Ayumu Singapore |
Singapore |
S$6,000 to 9,500 a month about USD 4,700 to 7,400 a month |
MyCareersFuture 6 October 2026 |
| Sushi Sous Chef |
FK Dunamis Group |
Singapore |
S$5,000 to 8,000 a month about USD 3,900 to 6,200 a month |
MyCareersFuture 13 September 2026 |
| Japanese Omakase Head Chef |
Shinbi |
Singapore |
S$4,500 to 6,500 a month about USD 3,500 to 5,100 a month |
MyCareersFuture 25 September 2026 |
| Sushi Chef |
Chikuyotei Singapore |
Singapore |
S$3,500 to 5,500 a month about USD 2,700 to 4,300 a month |
MyCareersFuture 5 October 2026 |
| Sushi Chef |
Kakushin F&B |
Singapore |
S$3,500 to 5,000 a month about USD 2,700 to 3,900 a month |
MyCareersFuture 12 October 2026 |
| Junior Sushi Chef |
Kakushin F&B |
Singapore |
S$2,500 to 3,500 a month about USD 2,000 to 2,700 a month |
MyCareersFuture 12 October 2026 |
| Japanese Line / Commis Cook |
Gochiso Asia Holdings |
Singapore |
S$2,800 to 3,500 a month about USD 2,200 to 2,700 a month |
MyCareersFuture 6 October 2026 |
United Kingdom: what restaurants advertised
London adverts are split between hourly pay (often ‘including tronc’, the pooled service charge) and annual salaries for chef de partie and head chef roles. Two adverts named visa sponsorship, one only for chefs already sponsored in the UK. New sponsorship of chefs from Japan is not currently possible; the pool is Youth Mobility Scheme holders and chefs who already hold the right to work.
Going rate by role
Annual pay before tronc; hourly adverts are shown with an annual estimate at 37.5 hours a week.
Head chef hired from Japan (Washoku Agent advert)
GBP 60,000 to 65,000 a year including service charge (base about GBP 39,000)
about USD 79,000 to 86,000 a year
1 advert
Sushi chef, chef de partie (hourly)
GBP 16 to 19.21 an hour, about GBP 31,000 to 37,000 a year
about USD 41,000 to 49,000 a year
3 adverts
Sushi chef, chef (annual)
GBP 32,000 to 50,000
about USD 42,000 to 66,000 a year
4 adverts
Head chef
GBP 36,000 to 60,000
about USD 48,000 to 79,000 a year
2 adverts
For a chef from Japan. There is no sponsored route for a new hire from Japan; the pool is Youth Mobility chefs and chefs who already hold the right to work. Washoku Agent’s advert for a London high-end sushi head chef offered GBP 60,000 to 65,000 a year including service charge (about USD 79,000 to 86,000), on a base of about GBP 39,000.
The adverts behind these figures (10 job advertisements; dates in the table)
| Role as advertised |
Employer |
City |
Pay as written |
Source and date |
| Head chef, new high-end sushi restaurant |
Not disclosed (visa support) |
London |
GBP 60,000 to 65,000 gross a year including service charge about USD 79,000 to 86,000 a year |
Washoku Agent June 2025 |
| Sushi Chef de Partie |
Dinings SW3 |
London SW3 |
from GBP 44,000 a year about USD 58,000 a year |
Indeed UK 2026 |
| Japanese head chef |
hotori ltd |
London |
GBP 40,000 to 60,000 a year about USD 53,000 to 79,000 a year |
JobToday September 2026 |
| Head Chef |
YO! Sushi |
London |
GBP 36,202 to 38,201 a year about USD 48,000 to 51,000 a year |
JobToday October 2026 |
| Chefs (multiple openings) |
Robin’s Ramen |
London W8 |
GBP 34,000 to 50,000 a year about USD 45,000 to 66,000 a year |
Indeed UK 2026 |
| Sushi Chef |
Fern Modern Sushi |
Leeds |
up to GBP 35,000 a year plus tips about USD 46,000 a year |
Indeed UK 2026 |
| Sushi Chef, live in, new Japanese restaurant |
Jubilee Talent |
Haverfordwest, Wales |
GBP 32,000 to 35,000 base about USD 42,000 to 46,000 a year |
Indeed UK October 2026 |
| Sushi Chef |
Tattu Canary Wharf |
London |
GBP 19.21 an hour (OTE) (about GBP 37,000 a year at 37.5 hours a week) about USD 50,000 a year |
Indeed UK 4 September 2026 |
| Sushi Chef |
Temaki Mayfair |
London |
GBP 16 to 18 an hour (about GBP 31,000 to 35,000 a year at 37.5 hours a week) about USD 41,000 to 46,000 a year |
JobToday September 2026 |
| Sushi Chef de Partie |
Fundamental Hospitality |
London |
GBP 16.75 an hour (about GBP 33,000 a year at 37.5 hours a week) about USD 43,000 a year |
JobToday October 2026 |
Australia: what restaurants advertised
Adverts quote annual pay, usually ‘plus super’ (superannuation, 12 percent from July 2025). Several adverts name regional or standard visa sponsorship; one regional employer offered accommodation with the worker paying utilities. Penalty rates for evenings and weekends come on top under the Restaurant Award.
Going rate by role
Annual pay before superannuation (12 percent) and penalty rates; hourly adverts are shown with an annual estimate at 38 hours a week.
Sushi chef, head chef hired from Japan (Washoku Agent adverts)
AUD 70,000 to 120,000 a year plus super
about USD 49,000 to 84,000 a year
3 adverts
Sushi chef, cook (annual)
AUD 75,000 to 100,000 plus super
about USD 52,000 to 70,000 a year
6 adverts
Sushi chef (hourly)
AUD 31 to 35 an hour, about AUD 61,000 to 69,000 a year
about USD 43,000 to 48,000 a year
2 adverts
Head chef, sous chef
AUD 80,000 to 120,000
about USD 56,000 to 84,000 a year
3 adverts
For a chef from Japan. A sponsored chef must be paid at least AUD 79,423 (about USD 55,000) and the market rate. Washoku Agent’s adverts in Sydney and Melbourne offered AUD 70,000 to 80,000 for a sushi chef and up to AUD 120,000 for a head chef (about USD 49,000 to 84,000). Budget superannuation from day one and lodge the nomination early.
- Restaurant Industry Award 2020, full-time weekly rates from 1 July 2026: Cook grade 2 AUD 1,062.90 (AUD 27.97 an hour), Cook grade 3 tradesperson AUD 1,119.10 (AUD 29.45), Cook grade 4 AUD 1,189.40 (AUD 31.30). Grade 3 is about AUD 58,000 a year before superannuation and penalty rates; the Japanese-restaurant adverts above sit well above the award. (Fair Work Commission, MA000119 clause 18, July 2026)
- Skills in Demand visa (482) Core Skills Income Threshold: AUD 79,423 a year for nominations from 1 July 2026, and the offer must match the market rate for the role. (Home Affairs, salary requirements, July 2026)
The adverts behind these figures (14 job advertisements; dates in the table)
| Role as advertised |
Employer |
City |
Pay as written |
Source and date |
| Sushi chef, high-end omakase |
Not disclosed (visa support) |
Sydney |
AUD 70,000 to 80,000 gross a year plus tips about USD 49,000 to 56,000 a year |
Washoku Agent April 2025 |
| Head chef, high-end omakase |
Not disclosed (visa support) |
Sydney |
up to AUD 120,000 gross a year plus tips about USD 84,000 a year |
Washoku Agent January 2025 |
| Head chef, yakiniku izakaya |
Not disclosed (flight refunded) |
Melbourne |
AUD 8,000 gross a month about USD 5,600 a month |
Washoku Agent September 2024 |
| Head Sushi Chef, omakase |
Wall Street |
South Yarra, Melbourne |
AUD 100,000 to 120,000 a year about USD 70,000 to 84,000 a year |
Seek 29 September 2026 |
| Fine Dining Chef / Sous Chef (regional sponsorship) |
Mu Omakase and Cicada Bar |
Victoria |
AUD 80,000 to 100,000 a year about USD 56,000 to 70,000 a year |
Seek 2 October 2026 |
| Head Chef, Japanese fusion |
KOI Bar and Restaurant |
Cairns |
AUD 80,000 to 100,000 a year about USD 56,000 to 70,000 a year |
Seek 18 September 2026 |
| Experienced Sushi Chef |
Yokatta Group |
Chatswood, Sydney |
AUD 80,000 to 100,000 plus superannuation about USD 56,000 to 70,000 a year |
Indeed Australia October 2026 |
| Sushi Chefs |
Frontline Hospitality (recruiter) |
Sydney |
AUD 75,000 to 95,000 plus super about USD 52,000 to 66,000 a year |
Seek October 2026 |
| Sushi Chef |
Kashiwa |
Windsor, Melbourne |
AUD 80,000 to 90,000 a year about USD 56,000 to 63,000 a year |
Seek October 2026 |
| Sushi Chef |
Raw Bar |
Bondi, Sydney |
AUD 75,000 to 85,000 a year about USD 52,000 to 59,000 a year |
Seek September 2026 |
| Cook, Japanese restaurant |
Wara Sushi |
West End, Brisbane |
AUD 80,000 a year plus 12 percent superannuation about USD 56,000 a year |
Seek September 2026 |
| Chef and Cook |
Izakaya Sumi |
Mount Lawley, Perth |
AUD 75,000 to 85,000 a year about USD 52,000 to 59,000 a year |
Seek 13 October 2026 |
| Sushi Chef (hourly) |
Kura Kura |
Haymarket, Sydney |
AUD 31 to 35 an hour (about AUD 61,000 to 69,000 a year at 38 hours a week) about USD 43,000 to 48,000 a year |
Seek September 2026 |
| Casual Sushi Chef / Cook (sponsorship considered after moving to full time) |
Sushi nova (Sushi Train) |
Brisbane Airport DFO |
from AUD 32 an hour (casual rate) (about AUD 63,000 a year at 38 hours a week) about USD 44,000 a year |
Nichigo Press updated April 2026 |
France: what restaurants advertised
French job-board adverts quote gross monthly pay on a 35 to 42 hour week, mostly at or near the minimum wage for cooks and chefs de partie, with no housing or visa support: they are written for local hires. Adverts for chefs hired from Japan, shown first, are on a different scale. Cooks are on the regional shortage list, which simplifies work authorisation.
Going rate by role
Gross monthly pay on a 35 to 42 hour week; hourly adverts are shown with a monthly estimate at 35 hours.
Sushi chef, head chef hired from Japan (Washoku Agent adverts)
EUR 3,200 to 6,000 gross a month, plus housing help, flight and visa support
about USD 3,600 to 6,700 a month
2 adverts
Commis, chef de partie (monthly)
EUR 1,867 to 2,600 gross a month
about USD 2,100 to 2,900 a month
4 adverts
Chef de partie, sous chef (hourly)
EUR 14.42 to 19.10 an hour, about EUR 2,200 to 2,900 a month
about USD 2,500 to 3,200 a month
2 adverts
Sushiman
EUR 2,500 to 2,800 gross a month
about USD 2,800 to 3,100 a month
2 adverts
For a chef from Japan. Adverts on French job boards are for local hires, close to the minimum wage. Chefs hired from Japan are on a different scale: Washoku Agent’s Paris adverts offered EUR 3,200 to 6,000 gross a month (about USD 3,600 to 6,700) with housing help, a flight and visa support. Budget French lessons too.
- SMIC (minimum wage): EUR 12.31 gross an hour, EUR 1,867.02 gross a month for 35 hours. The hotels, cafes and restaurants collective agreement sets grades above it; employer federation GHR notes that the SMIC now exceeds the lowest grades of the current grid, with a new grid pending. (Service-Public, SMIC; GHR, June 2026)
The adverts behind these figures (10 job advertisements; dates in the table)
| Role as advertised |
Employer |
City |
Pay as written |
Source and date |
| Sushi chef, fine dining |
Not disclosed (50% rent, flight, visa) |
Paris |
EUR 4,500 to 6,000 gross a month about USD 5,000 to 6,700 a month |
Washoku Agent May 2026 |
| Head chef, 14-seat counter |
Not disclosed (housing, flight, visa) |
Paris |
EUR 3,200 to 3,500 gross a month plus tips about USD 3,600 to 3,900 a month |
Washoku Agent January 2026 |
| Chef de partie |
Matsuri |
Paris |
EUR 2,500 to 2,600 gross a month plus tips, 42 hours about USD 2,800 to 2,900 a month |
Indeed France 2026 |
| Sushiman / Makiman |
undisclosed |
Paris |
EUR 2,500 to 2,600 a month about USD 2,800 to 2,900 a month |
HelloWork September 2026 |
| Sushiman |
Kyoto sushi and thai |
Saint-Tropez |
from EUR 2,800 a month about USD 3,100 a month |
Indeed France 2026 |
| Chef cuisinier, restaurant japonais |
VR Sushi |
Paris |
EUR 1,867.02 to 2,300 a month about USD 2,100 to 2,600 a month |
Jobijoba 14 September 2026 |
| Sous chef, gastronomic Japanese restaurant |
Kodawari Ramen |
Paris |
EUR 19.10 an hour (about EUR 35,000 a year at 35 hours a week) about USD 39,000 a year |
Jobijoba 10 October 2026 |
| Chef de partie, Japanese restaurant |
Kodawari Ramen |
Paris 11e |
EUR 14.42 an hour (about EUR 26,000 a year at 35 hours a week) about USD 29,000 a year |
Jobijoba 10 October 2026 |
| Commis de cuisine, Japanese restaurant |
Kodawari Ramen |
Paris |
EUR 2,062 to 2,239 a month about USD 2,300 to 2,500 a month |
Jobijoba 10 October 2026 |
| Sushiman (multi-site) |
Kumo |
Fontenay-sous-Bois |
from EUR 1,867.02 a month about USD 2,100 a month |
Indeed France 2026 |
United Arab Emirates: what restaurants advertised
Most Dubai adverts carry no pay figure. Of the few that do, the number is often ‘all-inclusive’ (basic plus allowances) and ‘tax-free’; hotel groups and larger employers include housing and transport allowances and visa assistance. No official wage statistic for chefs was found.
Going rate by role
Monthly pay in dirhams, tax-free; most Dubai adverts publish no figure.
Sushi chef, head chef hired from Japan (Washoku Agent adverts)
AED 12,000 to 20,000 net a month, housing provided or paid from allowances
about USD 3,300 to 5,400 a month
2 adverts
Chef de partie, sushi
AED 6,000 a month
about USD 1,600 a month
1 advert
Head chef (hotel or group, all-inclusive)
AED 25,000 a month including housing and transport
about USD 6,800 a month
1 advert
For a chef from Japan. Washoku Agent’s Dubai adverts offered AED 12,000 to 14,000 net a month for a sushi chef and AED 20,000 net for a head chef (about USD 3,300 to 5,400), with housing provided or paid from allowances. Ask what ‘all-inclusive’ covers before comparing.
- No government occupational wage table for chefs and cooks was found for the UAE, and we did not find a published national minimum wage for the private sector. Treat Dubai adverts as the only public benchmark and ask what ‘all-inclusive’ covers. (Search of UAE government sources, October 2026, October 2026)
The adverts behind these figures (5 job advertisements; dates in the table)
| Role as advertised |
Employer |
City |
Pay as written |
Source and date |
| Sushi chef, fine dining |
Not disclosed (housing, flight, visa) |
Dubai |
AED 12,000 to 14,000 net a month about USD 3,300 to 3,800 a month |
Washoku Agent May 2025 |
| Head chef, hand-roll sushi bar |
Not disclosed (visa, rent from allowance) |
Dubai |
AED 20,000 net a month about USD 5,400 a month |
Washoku Agent December 2024 |
| Chef de Partie, Sushi |
Hoshi Gourmet |
Jumeirah, Dubai |
AED 6,000 a month about USD 1,600 a month |
Qureos late 2025 (expired) |
| Sous Chef, Sushi (Nobu) |
Atlantis The Palm |
Dubai |
not stated; ‘competitive, tax-free salary paid in AED’ |
Talentmate September 2026 (closed) |
| Head Chef (Spanish concept, shown for the package structure) |
Barrafina |
Abu Dhabi |
AED 25,000 a month inclusive of housing and transport allowance, tax-free; work visa assistance about USD 6,800 a month |
Indeed UAE 2026 |
What a chef from Japan needs on top of the advertised rate
A chef hired from Japan is not a local hire at the advertised rate. The package has to clear the visa floor where one exists, cover the move, and hold the chef past year one. These are the lines to add to the advertised figure.
Visa floor
Singapore Employment Pass S$5,600 a month at 23 and rising with age; Australia 482 Core Skills AUD 79,423 plus market rate; US sponsored routes use the prevailing wage for the role; France requires the collective-agreement grade; the UK has no sponsored route for new chef hires today. Full detail in the country hiring guides.
Relocation and the first month
Flight, the first month’s housing or a guarantor, and the visa fees that fall on the chef. Owners who state these in the offer close faster; our guides list the government fees.
Return flight and progression
A yearly return flight to Japan and a written step to sous chef or head chef pay are the two items chefs ask about at month nine, when competitors call.
What the advert hides
Tips and tronc vary by venue; superannuation and penalty rates are law in Australia; Dubai ‘all-inclusive’ may already contain housing. Compare total cost to the restaurant, not the headline.
Salary bands, visa routes and retention advice for each country are in our hiring guides:
Frequently asked questions
How much does a sushi chef earn abroad?
Adverts for chefs hired from Japan (Washoku Agent): USD 5,000 to 9,000 a month in the US, S$8,000 to 12,000 a month for a Singapore head chef, GBP 60,000 to 65,000 a year for a London head chef, EUR 3,200 to 6,000 a month in Paris. Local job-board adverts, written for local hires, are lower: in September and October 2026, USD 30 to 35 an hour plus tips (about USD 62,000 to 73,000 a year) or USD 85,000 to 100,000 a year for omakase chefs in New York; S$3,500 to 5,500 a month for sushi chefs in Singapore, up to S$10,000 at fine-dining groups; AUD 75,000 to 90,000 plus superannuation in Sydney and Melbourne; GBP 16 to 19 an hour (about GBP 31,000 to 37,000 a year) or from GBP 44,000 a year in London; EUR 2,500 to 2,800 gross a month in Paris and the Riviera. Dubai adverts rarely publish a figure.
How do I set the package for a chef hired from Japan?
Start from the going rate for the role in your city, shown at the top of each country below, and take the upper half of the band: you are hiring trained skill that the local market is short of. Then add the visa minimum where one exists (Singapore’s Employment Pass floor, Australia’s income threshold, the US prevailing wage), relocation, first-month housing and a yearly return flight. Our country guides list the visa minimums and the government fees.
What does a head chef or executive chef at a Japanese restaurant earn?
New York adverts in 2026 ranged from USD 95,000 to 145,000 base; Singapore from S$4,500 for an omakase head chef at a small restaurant to S$14,000 to 16,000 at an integrated resort; Melbourne AUD 100,000 to 120,000 for an omakase head chef; London GBP 36,000 to 60,000.
Is the government wage data useful?
As a floor. The US median for all chefs and head cooks is USD 62,470; the Singapore median for resident chefs is S$3,650 gross a month; the Australian award pays a tradesperson cook about AUD 58,000 before super. Japanese-restaurant adverts for trained sushi chefs sit above all three.
What is included in the advertised figure?
It depends on the country: tips in New York hourly roles, tronc in London, 12 percent superannuation and penalty rates in Australia, gross monthly pay in Singapore and France, and sometimes housing and transport in Dubai ‘all-inclusive’ packages. Always ask.
How much more does a chef from Japan cost?
The advertised rate plus the visa floor where one applies, relocation, first-month housing, a yearly return flight and the agency fee if you use one. Singapore’s Employment Pass floor and Australia’s income threshold are above most sushi chef adverts, so the package for a chef from Japan is usually set by the visa, not the advert.
Does Washoku Agent publish its own placement salaries?
No. The figures here are public adverts, including adverts Washoku Agent has published for chefs hired from Japan, and government statistics. Advertised pay is not what was finally agreed. We use our placement experience when we advise an owner on a specific role, in a conversation, not in a table.
Sources, checked (2026-10-13)
- Washoku Agent: published job adverts for chefs hired from Japan (2024-2026)
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics: Chefs and head cooks (August 2026)
- Culinary Agents: Shota Omakase sushi chef
- One Haus: Executive Chef, new Japanese restaurant, New York
- COREcruitment: Sous Chef, Japanese cuisine, New York
- Scratch Restaurants: Head Sushi Chef, Deer Valley
- KIWAMI: Head Sushi Chef, Flushing
- MyCareersFuture (Singapore government job portal): sushi chef listings, September to October 2026
- MOM: Occupational Wages 2025 tables
- MOM: Employment Pass eligibility
- GOV.UK: National Minimum Wage rates
- Indeed UK and JobToday: London sushi chef listings, 2026
- Seek: Japanese restaurant chef listings, September to October 2026
- Fair Work Commission: Restaurant Industry Award 2020 (MA000119)
- Home Affairs: Salary requirements for sponsored workers
- Nichigo Press: Sushi nova casual sushi chef (April 2026)
- Service-Public: SMIC (June 2026)
- Jobijoba and Indeed France: Paris Japanese restaurant listings, September to October 2026
- Qureos: Chef de Partie Sushi, Hoshi Gourmet, Dubai
- Talentmate: Sous Chef Sushi Nobu, Atlantis The Palm
- Indeed UAE: Head Chef listings, Abu Dhabi and Dubai
FREE CONSULTATION
Want the number for your role, your city and a chef from Japan?
Tell us the position, the concept and the start month. We tell you what the package needs to be, which visa route applies and how long it takes.
Contact Washoku Agent →WhatsApp usHow our service works
WASHOKU PARTNER NETWORK
Do you supply, equip, train or house Japanese restaurants?
Join our free partner network. We introduce partners to owners who ask us, and partners tell us when a restaurant is about to move.
Register as a partner →